Article by an MPIfG researcher

Wolfgang Streeck, Bruno Amable, Jens Beckert, Jürgen Feick, Lane Kenworthy, Marc Schneiberg: Editorial. In: Socio-Economic Review 8(1), 1-2 (2010). Oxford University Press The original publication is available at the publisher's web site: https://doi.org/10.1093/ser/mwp032

Editorial

The year 2009 was another successful year for *Socio-Economic Review*. We published a total of four issues, starting with a Special Issue on institutional change in developed democracies, guest-edited by Bruno Amable. Articles, State of the Art papers, Discussion Forums and Review Symposiums covered a wide range of socio-economic topics and were well received by *SER*'s growing readership. Our newly introduced categories, 'Review Essay', which discusses several books on related topics, and 'Research Note', which informs readers of the particulars of interesting current research, have attracted strong interest. This year, *SER* starts with a Special Issue on transnational economic governance, guest-edited by Sigrid Quack. Its theme foreshadows SASE's 2010 meeting in Philadelphia, on the subject of 'Governance Across Borders'.

The steadily increasing number of submissions to *SER* is especially encouraging. With *SER* now listed in the Web of Science, we expect further increases in quantity and quality. The editorial team was able to provide authors with a first decision, on average, 60 days after submission. All submitted manuscripts were processed within three months. This would not have been possible without the dedicated work of our reviewers, whose invaluable contributions to *SER*'s double-blind review procedure we gratefully acknowledge. Their names are listed at the end of this issue. The acceptance rate for submitted manuscripts that were accepted for review was around 20%.

At SASE's 2009 meeting in Paris, we had the opportunity to show our appreciation for our authors by awarding for the second time our annual prize for the best submitted article. This year, the prize went to Lane Kenworthy and Leslie McCall, for a joint paper. The winner for 2009 will receive the prize of \$1000 at the SASE meeting in Philadelphia on June 24–26, 2010.

To our great regret, Jonathan Zeitlin left the editorial team after taking up his position as president of SASE in July. We will very much miss his enthusiasm and professional judgement. Without him, *SER* would not be where it is now. In the future, we will continue to rely on Jonathan as a member of *SER*'s Advisory Committee. The remaining editors had the pleasure of welcoming three new members to the editorial team: Bruno Amable from the Université de Paris I Panthéon–Sorbonne, Lane Kenworthy from the University of Arizona at Tucson, and Marc Schneiberg from Reed College. They began fully participating in the editorship in July 2009.

We also acknowledge the support of our Advisory Committee and our Editorial Board. The Editorial Board was joined by three new members: Monica Prasad and Leslie McCall of Northwestern University and Jacqueline O'Reilly of the University of Brighton. According to our policy statement, Editorial Board members 'are expected to help maintain and improve the intellectual excellence of the journal. They should consider submitting their best work to *SER*—work that they believe advances the mission of *SER* and meets the standards of quality expected of a first-rate journal. They should also actively solicit papers. When they attend conferences or seminars and hear interesting work, they should invite the author to submit it to *SER*. They are furthermore expected to be available to peer review a reasonable number of papers at the request of the editorial team. Editorial Board members serve a four-year term that is once renewable'.

Wolfgang Streeck, Bruno Amable, Jens Beckert, Jürgen Feick, Lane Kenworthy and Marc Schneiberg